Completed Projects · Musings · Upcycled Fabrics

Fun Decor and Fabrics

I keep scrolling on the internet, reading stories about how one of my favourite bloggers/writers touched people’s lives.  She had a far bigger impact than I realized.  I sure will miss her blogs, books, and snarky comments online when challenged by power-hungry leaders who probably felt threatened by her bravery and intellect.  All that reading today makes me think, “Sure, she would probably be blown away by how much she meant to people.  But what if she’s right now longing to be back with her babies!  She was supposed to recover from the flu a few weeks ago!  What if, inside her coma, she was panicking about possibly not going home?”  So, right now I need to stop and put my mind on the sunny day here and on colourful, pattern-y things.

First up – some crocheted motifs to be used to decorate other handmade items (yet to be determined!).  I love the complicated simplicity of the maple leaf and the angel patterns.  They look complicated to do, but once I got into the crochet diagram, I found it soothing and easy to do.  Just one stitch at a time.  Then there is the paisley.  I love paisley patterns, both in crochet and in art.  And again, looks complicated, but just plunge in and start stitching.  The organic shape was my tentative attempt at freeform crochet.  I’m a person who usually likes to work within structure, plans, patterns…but this was fun.  I read a book awhile ago – wish I could remember which one – with basic principles about how to stitch with different stitches and heights to get an organic shape, round after round.  I’m going to have to try this again.  Working outside the plan.  Metaphor for my life right now.

crochet motifs paisley maple leaf angel freeform shape
crochet motifs paisley maple leaf angel freeform shape

And then there are these beautiful plates I have been collecting from thrift stores.  Years ago I would pick up floral English china dishes from thrift stores, simply because I thought they were pretty, and they cost under a dollar each.  I have cycled through many of them over the years of raising a family.  My kids are grown up now, and I started collecting some of the fancier ones that cost more than a dollar, just for fun.  I keep picturing putting decorated cupcakes on them for a party, except that I never do that.  Maybe I should.  Hey, my daughter’s homeschool graduation party is coming up soon…that’s a reason to gussy up some dessert and serve on these plates!

floral English china plates thrift store
floral English china plates thrift store

I REALLY wish I could get a better photo of this lampshade – the bright colours somehow mess up my camera, and I don’t have patience right now to figure out the intricacies of how to get a better photo.  In real life, the orange fringe is not as bright, but it is bright.  Anyway, I LOVE how this lampshade turned out!  I use this lamp on my table where I tutor students in the afternoon.  The shade was plain, so I cut up small pieces of fabric to decorate it.  The pink, blue, and purple flowers were all cut from vintage sheets I have.  Then I glued them, mosaic-like, to the surface.  I basically just painted them on with gloss medium mixed with water, and then gave it all another coat.  Then I set about crocheting the top and the bottom fringe.  It was SO fun to try something new.  The crocheted chains and pom poms were therapeutic to do!  I hot-glued the trims, and voila.  Each time a student came to my house during the following week, they’d walk in and see this crazy lampshade on the table and their eyes would get wide.  Many of them sit and flick their fingers at the pom poms while thinking their way through their work with me.  Some try to weave their pencils in and out the holes.  I mostly don’t mind, as long as their hands are clean and they don’t tug at the shade.  😀 . It’s tactile help for while they are thinking.

handmade colourful boho bohemian lampshade
handmade colourful lampshade

A few months ago I became obsessed with turkish lamps.  Maybe I’ll find one someday around here in a thrift store.  Anyway, I decided to somewhat mimic the colour and beauty in them.  I found a pair of square candle holders at a thrift store, used a 50% off coupon at Michaels craft stores for a container of red glass beads, and set to work.  I used E6000 glue to glue these on (after wiping the glass with alcohol on cotton balls).  This is the result.  They look so pretty in the dark, with candlelight shining through.

clear red bead candleholders
clear red bead candleholders

And just another Wabasso vintage sheet find for me!!!!!!!  I LOVE LOVE LOVE their patterns!

Wabasso blue floral sheets pillowcases
Wabasso blue floral sheets pillowcases

And SCORE on some beautifully coloured cashmere sweaters to shrink and cut up for projects such as mittens.  The things I’ve always loved to collect from thrift stores are SO hard to find these days, because everyone else seems to have caught on.  It’s addictive to go into a store, but I haven’t gone in awhile.  My collections need to be cut and sewn into new projects!

plush fuzzy soft bright purple cashmere sweater fabric
plush fuzzy soft bright purple cashmere sweater fabric
soft fuzzy blue cashmere sweater fabric
soft fuzzy blue cashmere sweater fabric
Soft fuzzy green cashmere sweater
Soft fuzzy green cashmere sweater

That’s all for now.  More colourful project photos coming soon, as I have continued over the winter to make, make, make.